© 2019 All rights reserved

SQUARE DANCE 
SQUARE DANCE-visuel.jpg

If art opposes the empirical through the element of form, (…) the mediation is to be sought in the recognition of aesthetic form as sedimented content. What are taken to be the purest forms can be traced back even in the smallest idiomatic detail to content.

– Theodor Adorno, Aesthetic Theory

For SQUARE DANCE, I am interested in the place where the geometrical shakes hands with the libidinal and relational. To borrow a word from Adorno, I am curious to examine different situations in which movements sourced from intentions, behaviors, and social practices become sedimented into choreography. The fabric of our relationships is woven in movement - the directions we turn our heads and bodies, the ways we couple up, disperse, clump into groups, push someone away, take someone close, wander off by ourselves. How does choreography, on stage but also in the movements of daily life, reveal the social impulses at work within an individual organism and the networks of relationships in a group? Choreography: a cartography of relationships.

SQUARE DANCE will be an exploration of the geometries of the social sphere, examining and searching for inspiration from two choreographies that both map and construct social relationships: US American square dancing and contemporary clubbing. While the former, a folk dance based on an intricate system of couplings and uncouplings, delights in a linear / Euclidean geometry, the latter is marked by more amorphous forms and pathways, in which a dancer, guided by a dialogue between pleasure and social custom, navigates proximities to or distances from different individuals, groups, architectural features, and sound and light environments.

It can be easy to cast square dancing as some heteronormative machine, and night club dancing as a utopian playground for liberation technology. They are these things. At the same time, their coexistence might permit us to see unexpected parallels in their pleasures and restrictions.

SQUARE DANCE will be an ode to the coexistence of differences, an exhaustive encyclopedia of groove, of love, of smelly sweaty armpits and altered states, stimulation, excitement, frustration, discipline both imposed and requested, sleepiness, boredom, and reawakening, at any and all levels of intensity.

Cast

Concept Bryan Campbell

Dance Katerina Andreou, Bryan Campbell, Jule Flierl, Gaëtan Rusquet

Light Yannick Fouassier

Sound / Technic Éric Yvelin

Set construction Pierre Bouglé- Atelier PanoramaRoad

Outside Jaco Peter Kovner

Thanks to Arthur Eskenazi, Bryana Fritz, Timo Hateau, Myrto Katsiki, Olivia Lioret

Production déléguée Météores

Coproduction : Charleroi danse, Le Gymnase I CDCN Roubaix Hauts-de-France, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie, CCN de Tours / Direction Thomas Lebrun, CN D Centre national de la danse

With the financial support of  CCN de Caen en Normandie, direction Alban Richard, SPEDIDAM, ADAMI

With the support for residencies of  Songo/Stéréolux (Nantes), Montévidéo, Centre d’Art, L'Echangeur CDCN

 

Tour

Festival Le Grand Bain - Le Gymnase CDCN, Roubaix - March 25 2019 (Avant-première)

Festival Leg - Charleroi danse (Belgique)  - April 3 2019 (PREMIERE)

Festival Camping - Centre national de la danse, Pantin - June 24 & 25 2019

.................................................................

Photo : ©Bryan Campbell

  • Black Facebook Icon

© 2019 Tous droits réservés

SQUARE DANCE 
SQUARE DANCE-visuel.jpg
Si l'art s'oppose à l'empirique par la forme (…) leur lien est à chercher en reconnaissant la forme esthétique comme un contenu sédimenté d'expériences empiriques. Pour chaque objet de forme pure on peut remonter à un contenu idiomatique, le plus petit soit-il.“    

Theodor Adorno, Théorie Esthétique

Ce qui m'intéresse dans SQUARE DANCE est d'explorer l'endroit où le géométrique, en tant que pur agencement de figures dans l'espace, s'articule au libidinal et au relationnel. Pour suivre la pensée d'Adorno, je suis curieux d'examiner et d'expérimenter différentes situations dans lesquelles des mouvements produits à partir d'intentions ou de comportements issus de pratiques sociales se sédimentent en chorégraphie. La manière dont nos relations se fabriquent est intrinsèquement liée au mouvement : la manière dont nous tournons la tête et le corps, celle dont on se met par deux, dont on se disperse, dont on se rassemble ou s'agglutine, dont on repousse quelqu'un ou garde quelqu'un serré, ou celle par laquelle nous nous égarons nous-mêmes. Comment la chorégraphie, sur le plateau, mais aussi dans les mouvements de la vie quotidienne, révèle-t-elle les impulsions sociales au travail chez un individu ou dans un réseau de relations au sein d'un groupe? Chorégraphie : une cartographie des relations.

SQUARE DANCE sera une exploration des géométries de la sphère sociale s'appuyant sur deux sources d'inspiration chorégraphiques qui schématisent et construisent des relations sociales singulières : le square dance américain et le clubbing contemporain. Alors que la plus ancienne forme, une danse folk basée sur un système de formation et dissolution de paires de danseurs, permet de savourer des déplacements au cœur d'une géométrie Euclidienne et linéaire, la plus récente est marquée par des formes et des chemins souples dans lesquels le danseur, guidé par un dialogue entre plaisir et usages sociaux, navigue à la fois à proximité ou à distance des différents individus, groupes, espaces, ou des environnements sonores et lumineux.

Il serait facile d'identifier le square dance comme une sorte de machine hétéronormée et les danses en boite de nuit comme un terrain de jeu utopique ou une technologie de libération. Il sont en effet cela. Mais en même temps, leur coexistence pourrait nous permettre de voir des parallèles inattendus dans les plaisirs et restrictions qu'ils procurent.

SQUARE DANCE sera une ode à la coexistence des différences, une encyclopédie exhaustive de groove, d'amour, d'aisselles humides et puantes, d'états altérés, de stimulations, d'enthousiasme, de frustrations, de discipline à la fois imposée et consentie, d'états de fatigue, d'ennui et de régénération à tout niveau d'intensité possible.

Distribution et partenaires


Conception Bryan Campbell

Danse Katerina Andreou, Bryan Campbell, Jule Flierl,Gaëtan Rusquet

Lumière Yannick Fouassier

Son / Régie générale Éric Yvelin

Consultation Vidéo

Construction Pierre Bouglé-Atelier PanoramaRoad

Regard extérieur Jabob Peter Kovner

Remerciements Arthur Eskenazi, Bryana Fritz, Timo Hateau, Myrto Katsiki, Olivia Lioret, 

Production déléguée Météores

Coproduction Charleroi danse, Le Gymnase I CDCN Roubaix Hauts-de-France, La Place de la Danse – CDCN Toulouse / Occitanie, CCNde Tours / Direction Thomas Lebrun, CN D Centre national de la danse 

avec le soutien financier du CCN de Caen en Normandie, direction Alban Richard, de la SPEDIDAM et de l'ADAMI 

avec le soutien en résidence de Songo/Stéréolux, Montévidéo/Centre d’Art, L'Echangeur CDCN - Hauts de France

 

Diffusion 

Festival Le Grand Bain - Le Gymnase CDCN, Roubaix - 25 mars 2019 (Avant-première)

Festival Leg - Charleroi danse (Belgique)  - 3 Avril 2019 (CRÉATION)

Festival Camping - Centre national de la danse - 24 & 25 juin 2019 

 

 

 

.................................................................

Photo : ©Bryan Campbell

  • Black Facebook Icon