top of page
High Gear

With HIGH GEAR, Kidows Kim begins the third chapter of his intimate cosmogony depicted in his “Dictionary of Fantastic Creatures”. In this solo performed by Kazuki Fujita, he excavates alternative manga imagery evoking relationships with power, norms and domination.

Without ever reproducing them, a figure confusedly embodies the images collected by oscillating between horror, dark fantasy and post-apocalyptic. In these worlds tinged with patriarchy, imperialism and the promotion of hyper-productivity, it seeks to divert the codes and free herself from their toxicity. The body is smothered by a sculpture of metal and dilapidated fabrics, it evolves as best it can in the ashes of saturated images and industrial noises.

HIGH GEAR explores the intervals between the panels in an abrupt dramaturgy where excess hybridizes with reverie.

Distribution

Choreography Kidows Kim

Interpretation Kazuki Fujita

Dramaturgy Hubert Crabières

Josiane Martinho costume

Creation of metal sculpture Célia Boulesteix

Sound designer Samir Kennedy

Text reflection Lucille Belland

Delegated production Météores

Production, administration Charlotte Giteau

Diffusion Clémence Voidies

Coproduction

ICI-CCN Montpellier – Occitanie / Pyrénées Méditerranée - Direction Christian Rizzo 

Residencies

La Bellone, Bruxelles ; CN D Centre national de la danse ; The Saison Foundation, Japan: invitation as "Visiting fellow" in 2023, with the support of : The Agency for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan, in Fiscal Year 2023 

Visual Hubert Crabières

bottom of page

top of page
High Gear

Avec HIGH GEAR, Kidows Kim engage le troisième chapitre de sa cosmogonie intime dépeinte dans son “Dictionnaire des créatures fantastiques”. Dans ce solo interprété par Kazuki Fujita, il excave une imagerie de manga alternatif évoquant des rapports au pouvoir, à la norme et à la domination.

Sans jamais les reproduire, une figure incarne confusément les images récoltées en oscillant entre horreur, dark fantasy et post-apocalyptique. Dans ces univers teintés de patriarcat, d’impérialisme et de valorisation de l’hyper-productivité, elle cherche à en détourner les codes et s’affranchir de leur toxicité. Le corps est étouffé par une sculpture de métal et de tissus délabrés, il évolue tant bien que mal dans les cendres d’images saturées et de bruits industriels.

HIGH GEAR explore les intervalles entre les cases dans une dramaturgie abrupte où l’excès s’hybride avec la rêverie. 

Distribution

Chorégraphie Kidows Kim

Interprétation Kazuki Fujita

Dramaturgie Hubert Crabières

Costume Josiane Martinho

Création sculpture en métal Célia Boulesteix

Sound design Samir Kennedy

Réflexion texte Lucille Belland

Production déléguée Météores 

Production, administration Charlotte Giteau 

Coproduction

ICI-CCN Montpellier – Occitanie / Pyrénées Méditerranée - Direction Christian Rizzo dans le cadre de l'accueil-studio

Accueil en résidence

La Bellone, Bruxelles ; CN D Centre national de la danse ; The Saison Foundation, Japon : invitation en tant que « Visiting fellow » en 2023, avec le soutien de : The Agency for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan, in Fiscal Year 2023 

Visuel Hubert Crabières

bottom of page